VoiceJury

AI Voice Generator Pricing (2026): Cost Calculator for 13 Tools

Verified on

The cheapest AI voice generator plans that clearly allow commercial use start at Voicemaker Starter ($5/mo), ElevenLabs Starter ($6/mo) and Uberduck Creator ($9.99/mo). For 60 minutes of commercial voiceover a month, monthly-billed prices run from $5/mo (Voicemaker Starter) to $49/mo (WellSaid Labs Pro), a 9.8× spread. APIs start at $0.24/mo (Amazon Polly Standard).

Key facts

  • 8 of the 12 free plans we checked explicitly forbid commercial use, so voiceovers made on them can't go into monetized videos or client work.
  • At 60 minutes a month, the most expensive tool costs 9.8× as much as the cheapest: $49/mo (WellSaid Labs Pro) vs $5/mo (Voicemaker Starter).
  • Every price was read from the vendor's own pricing page, in a browser, with monthly billing selected where the site offers it, on September 30, 2026.

AI voice generator pricing looks simple until you try to compare it. One tool sells credits, another sells characters, a third sells hours, and a fourth sells "download minutes". Some free plans reset monthly, others give you a one-time allowance. Several pricing pages default to annual billing, so the price you see first is not the price you'll pay month to month.

We read every pricing page ourselves, converted each plan to a monthly cost for a real amount of audio, and checked whether you're actually allowed to use the result commercially. The tables below are the result.

What 60 and 300 minutes a month cost

Both tables assume you need commercial rights and pay monthly. Sixty minutes a month is roughly four to eight YouTube videos with voiceover; 300 minutes is a weekly podcast or a small course catalog.

Change the minutes, switch between monthly and annual billing, or turn off the commercial requirement to include plans that don't allow it.

Billing

Cheapest plan for 60 minutes a month, commercial use, billed monthly

Subscription tools
ToolCheapest plan that fitsMonthly costCost per minuteCommercial useNotes
Voicemaker
Starter (~200 min/mo)
$5/mo
$0.083/min
Yes
minutes estimated at 1,000 characters ≈ 1 minute
Fish Audio
Plus (~200 min/mo)
$15/mo
$0.25/min
Yes
Listnr
Individual (~120 min/mo)
$19/mo
$0.32/min
Yes
billed annually; monthly price not shown on official site
Async
Essentials (~120 min/mo)
$19.99/mo per seat
$0.33/min
Yes
Based only on the general Terms of Service wording ('You may utilize the Output for any lawful purpose'); the pricing page has no commercial-use row.
ElevenLabs
Creator (~121 min/mo)
$22/mo
$0.37/min
Yes
Murf
Creator (~120 min/mo)
$29/mo
$0.48/min
Yes
Typecast
Pro (~90 min/mo)
$29/mo
$0.48/min
Yes
WellSaid Labs
Pro (~180 min/mo)
$49/mo
$0.82/min
Yes

Commercial terms unclear

Not ranked: the official terms do not clearly allow commercial use. Prices shown for reference.

Commercial terms unclear
ToolCheapest plan that fitsMonthly costCost per minuteCommercial useNotes
MiniMax Audio
Starter (~120 min/mo)
$5/mo
$0.083/min
Unclear — see note
Commercial-use wording on the plan cards mentions songs only, and the general Terms of Service contain a clause prohibiting commercial use of the Services.

Not calculated because the official site doesn't state enough: Descript, NaturalReader, Speechify, Synthesys and Uberduck. Why. Shut down or pivoted, not included: LOVO, Play.ht and Resemble AI. Evidence.

$6 verified on the official site~200 min estimated (1,000 characters ≈ 1 minute)Unclear terms unclearNot verified not stated on the official site

How AI voice pricing actually works

Everything is sold in a different unit. ElevenLabs charges one credit per character on its website. Fish Audio says a minute of speech uses roughly 600 to 625 credits. Listnr describes 20,000 credits a month as ~120 min. Murf and WellSaid skip credits entirely and sell time. A "credit" means something different at almost every company, so comparing credit counts across tools tells you nothing.

We compare minutes, using the vendor's own estimate first. Most vendors print an approximate number of minutes next to each plan, and we use that figure. When a vendor only states characters, we estimate 1,000 characters per minute of speech and mark the result as an estimate. That's close to a natural speaking pace and matches ElevenLabs' own plan comparison.

Vendors don't always agree with themselves. Fish Audio's Plus plan includes 250,000 credits a month, which the plan card says is ~200 min of speech. At the 600 to 625 credits per minute Fish Audio states elsewhere, the same credits would be about 400 minutes. We use the lower figure the plan card states, because that's what the vendor commits to.

Some prices are per seat. These plans are priced per person: Async, Descript, NaturalReader Team and WellSaid Labs Business. The tables assume one seat; a team of three pays three times as much.

Five things the pricing pages don't make obvious

1. Free plans are almost never for commercial use. 8 of the 12 free plans we checked say so explicitly. ElevenLabs and Typecast also require you to credit them on anything you publish from a free plan. If your video is monetized, the free plan is for testing voices, not for publishing.

2. "Commercial license" can come with conditions. Typecast's Basic and Plus plans include a commercial license, but its help center says YouTube creators earning AdSense revenue must be on the Pro plan. Typecast appears in our 60-minute table at its Pro price because Basic (~35 min) and Plus (~50 min) don't include 60 minutes a month. If you earn YouTube ad revenue, you need Pro anyway.

3. Some terms are unclear or contradictory. MiniMax Audio's plan cards describe commercial rights for songs, while its general terms of service contain a clause against commercial use of the services. Descript's pricing page and terms say you own your output but never explicitly grant commercial rights. We don't rank either as "commercial" until the vendor says so clearly.

4. Free allowances aren't always monthly. Typecast's free plan is 3,000 credits for the lifetime of the account, not per month. Listnr's is 1,000 credits, one time. A free plan that looks generous may run out after a single video.

5. Some prices are only shown as annual. Listnr's monthly/annual switch didn't work when we checked, so only the annual price was visible. We show its price with a note rather than leaving it out.

Monthly vs annual billing

Paying for a year up front lowers the monthly price by 10% to 52%, depending on the tool. That's worth it once you've settled on a voice and a workflow, not before. Several pricing pages open on the annual view by default, so check which price you're looking at before comparing.

APIs: much cheaper, but you build the workflow

If you're a developer, cloud text-to-speech APIs cost a fraction of a creator subscription. Amazon Polly's Standard voices cost $4 per million characters, and Google's legacy Standard voices cost $4 per million characters. Current-generation voices cost more: Google Chirp 3 HD costs $30 per million characters, OpenAI tts-1-hd costs $30 per million characters and Amazon Polly Generative costs $30 per million characters. Even at that price, 60 minutes of speech on OpenAI tts-1-hd costs $1.80.

The catch is that an API gives you raw audio and nothing else. There's no editor for fixing pronunciation, no voice library to browse, and usually no voice cloning at the entry level. You also need to check each provider's terms yourself; the API table below shows price only.

Cost for 60 minutes a month. Assumes 1,000 characters ≈ 1 minute of speech. Commercial terms of API tiers are not verified.

Pay-as-you-go APIs
ToolTierPrice per 1M charactersMonthly costCost per minute
Amazon PollyStandard$4$0.24/mo$0.004/min
Azure AI SpeechStandard Voice – Neural / Neural HD Flash (real-time and batch)$15$0.90/mo$0.015/min
OpenAI TTStts-1$15$0.90/mo$0.015/min
Google Cloud Text-to-SpeechChirp 3: HD voices$30$1.80/mo$0.030/min
Show all tiers (18)
All API tiers
ToolTierPrice per 1M charactersMonthly costCost per minute
Amazon PollyStandard$4$0.24/mo$0.004/min
Google Cloud Text-to-SpeechWaveNet voices (Legacy)$4$0.24/mo$0.004/min
Google Cloud Text-to-SpeechStandard voices (Legacy)$4$0.24/mo$0.004/min
Azure AI SpeechStandard Voice – Neural / Neural HD Flash (real-time and batch)$15$0.90/mo$0.015/min
OpenAI TTStts-1$15$0.90/mo$0.015/min
Amazon PollyNeural$16$0.96/mo$0.016/min
Google Cloud Text-to-SpeechNeural2 voices (Legacy)$16$0.96/mo$0.016/min
Google Cloud Text-to-SpeechPolyglot (Preview) voices (Legacy)$16$0.96/mo$0.016/min
Azure AI SpeechStandard Voice – Neural HD (real-time and batch)$22$1.32/mo$0.022/min
Azure AI SpeechCustom Voice – Professional Voice synthesis (real-time and batch)$24$1.44/mo$0.024/min
Azure AI SpeechPersonal Voice synthesis (real-time and batch)$24$1.44/mo$0.024/min
Amazon PollyGenerative$30$1.80/mo$0.030/min
Google Cloud Text-to-SpeechChirp 3: HD voices$30$1.80/mo$0.030/min
OpenAI TTStts-1-hd$30$1.80/mo$0.030/min
Azure AI SpeechCustom Voice – Professional Voice synthesis (neural HD)$48$2.88/mo$0.048/min
Google Cloud Text-to-SpeechInstant custom voice$60$3.60/mo$0.060/min
Amazon PollyLong-Form$100$6/mo$0.10/min
Google Cloud Text-to-SpeechStudio voices (Legacy)$160$9.60/mo$0.16/min

Not priced per character, so not listed: Cartesia (all tiers); Azure AI Speech (Commitment tier (Neural, prebuilt non-HD)); Google Cloud Text-to-Speech (Gemini 2.5 Flash TTS / Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite Preview TTS, Gemini 3.1 Flash TTS (Preview), Gemini 2.5 Pro TTS); OpenAI TTS (gpt-4o-mini-tts).

$6 verified on the official site~200 min estimated (1,000 characters ≈ 1 minute)Unclear terms unclearNot verified not stated on the official site

Tools we couldn't price, and why

We list these tools because people ask about them, but we won't invent numbers their pricing pages don't give.

  • Descript doesn't state commercial rights explicitly, and its AI credits cover several features, not only speech.
  • NaturalReader charges credits per character, but the rate depends on which voice you use, and the rates aren't published.
  • Speechify Studio only shows annual totals, and doesn't say whether its plan credits are per month or per year.
  • Synthesys now sells an AI video platform. Voiceover doesn't consume credits, and there's no voice-only plan to compare.
  • Uberduck doesn't publish how its credits convert to minutes of speech.

Shut down or pivoted

  • Play.ht: when we checked on September 30, 2026, play.ht no longer resolved and the certificate for app.play.ht had expired. We found no official announcement. See our Play.ht alternatives guide.
  • LOVO (Genny): every page on its site returned an HTTP 402 error when we checked, and there's no official announcement. We treat it as shut down.
  • Resemble AI announced on August 13, 2026 that it had moved to deepfake detection and is no longer taking new customers for its voice products.

Prices change often in this category. We re-check every tool each month, and the date at the top of this page tells you when we last did.

FAQ

How much does ElevenLabs cost per month?
ElevenLabs Starter costs $6/mo and includes ~30 min of speech plus a commercial license. Creator costs $22/mo for ~121 min, and Pro costs $99/mo for ~600 min. The free plan is for non-commercial use only and requires crediting ElevenLabs when you publish.
What is the cheapest text to speech with a commercial license?
On monthly billing, the cheapest plans that clearly allow commercial use are Voicemaker Starter ($5/mo), ElevenLabs Starter ($6/mo) and Uberduck Creator ($9.99/mo). If you need around 300 minutes a month, the cheapest option we found is $10/mo (Voicemaker Creator).
Can I use a free AI voice generator for commercial projects?
Usually not. 8 of the 12 free plans we checked explicitly forbid commercial use, and ElevenLabs and Typecast also require attribution on free-plan content. If you publish monetized videos, podcasts or client work, budget for the cheapest paid plan.
How much does AI voiceover cost per month?
For 60 minutes a month with commercial rights, expect $5/mo (Voicemaker Starter) to $49/mo (WellSaid Labs Pro) on monthly billing. For 300 minutes, prices start at $10/mo (Voicemaker Creator). Paying annually cuts the monthly price by 10% to 52%, depending on the tool.
Is ElevenLabs cheaper than OpenAI text to speech?
Not per minute. OpenAI's tts-1 API costs $15 per million characters, so 60 minutes of speech costs $0.90. ElevenLabs Creator costs $22/mo for ~121 min. The subscription pays for an editor, a voice library and voice cloning; the API gives you raw audio that you have to build a workflow around.
Why do some tools show 'Data not verified'?
We only calculate a price when the vendor's own pricing page states the price, the monthly quota and whether commercial use is allowed. If any of those is missing or contradictory, we show the tool but leave it out of the rankings instead of guessing.

How we checked

Every price on this page was read in a browser from the vendor's official pricing page with monthly billing selected where the site offers it, on September 30, 2026. Where a vendor states approximate minutes, we use its figure. Otherwise we estimate 1,000 characters ≈ 1 minute of speech and label the result as an estimate. Plans whose price, quota or commercial terms we couldn't confirm are shown as 'Data not verified' and left out of the rankings. We re-verify every tool monthly. Read our full methodology.